AfricaCom is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.


Dr. Keabetswe Modimoeng Chairperson at ICASA


Dr Keabetswe Modimoeng (PhD) is a Corporate governance specialist with global Public Affairs experience. Earlier in his career, he held Corporate communications roles at Business Unity South Africa (BUSA) and Anglo American (Kumba Iron Ore). He is a former Sunday Times Labour and Business Journalist where he won the 2009 Workers World Productions Labour Journalist of the Year Award. Prior to joining ICASA, he was the Public Affairs and Corporate Citizenship Manager for Samsung Electronics (Africa) head office- reporting to the global Headquarters in South Korea.

At Samsung Electronics, he successfully led various multinational initiatives across the African continent, with flagship health and education projects in Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, Kenya and Tanzania amongst others.

Dr Modimoeng is a Harvard University (Kennedy School) Senior Executive Fellow, and holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Management Sciences specializing in Business Administration from Durban University of Technology.

He holds a National Diploma in Public Relations Management from Tshwane University of Technology, Certificate in Applied Project Management from Milpark Business School (Cum Laude) and a Master of Business Administration degree from Regent Business School (Best Dissertation Award).

He previously served as a Board member at the Windybrow Theatre (Ministerial appointee), and the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Science at the University of Johannesburg (Industry Advisory board). He currently serves on the Board of the South African Weather Service (Ministerial appointee).

Dr Modimoeng is an avid reader and published poet, recipient of the 2011 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award.

Agenda Sessions