AfricaTech is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.


Timo Jokiaho
Head of EMEA Telco Technology Office, Principal Technologist at Red Hat


Jokiaho is the Head of EMEA Telco Technology Office and Principal Technologist for network functions virtualization (NFV) at Red Hat. He is working with service providers, network equipment providers, system integrators and independent software vendors to progress the NFV and SDN agenda and initiatives within the industry as well as Red Hat’s telecom related products. His focus is NFV Readiness for the Openstack Platform, networking performance, real time characteristics, availability and related issues in particular.

Previously Jokiaho led the software technology planning function in Huawei Technologies, focusing on the base platform domain (operating systems, virtualization, telco cloud with high availability and performance), and also planning for terminal software platform, including Android and some experimental technologies.

Jokiaho also led Samsung’s device software R&D in Finland, and prior to this, he led the Strategy, Technology & Architecture section at Nokia Siemens Networks, with additional leadership responsibilities in several R&D and business teams at Nokia earlier.

Outside of the telecommunications industry, Mr. Jokiaho also has software development experience in various industries, including the maritime navigation systems for large vessels like oil tankers.

Mr. Jokiaho was the first Chairman of SCOPE Alliance (2006, Nokia) and obtained the chairmanship again later (2011, Huawei). The SCOPE Alliance is an industry consortium established by major Network Equipment Providers, including Alcatel, Ericsson, Huawei, Lucent, Motorola Networks, NEC, Nokia Networks, Nortel and Siemens Communications. Jokiaho was also President of Service Availability Forum and Chairman of the Technical Working Group.

Speakers at this event