Leading Lights Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

General Information and FAQ's

Got a question about the awards? Then check this frequently asked questions section for answers.

// What are Light Reading’s Leading Light Awards?

The Leading Lights are the next-generation communications industry’s most coveted honor. Light Reading’s reputation for fiercely independent analysis of the people, products and the companies it covers makes this the most credible and authoritative awards program in the industry. Also, because of that editorial independence, it provides telecom companies with a fantastic chance to evangelize their expertise and success. The entry process, judging and final decisions are completely independent of any other program or process run by or associated with Light Reading – every entry is judged on its own merits.

//  When and where are the Leading Lights announced?

The Leading Lights Shortlist will be announced at The Big 5G Event the week of August 30, 2021.

The Leading Lights Winners will be announced via an online video on October 1, 2021. A Leading Lights Winners party will be held at Mobile World Congress Los Angeles the week of October 26, 2021.

//   What do I need to submit in my entry?

All entries must be written in English and submitted via our online form.

  • SUBMISSIONS MUST BE NO LONGER THAN 400 WORDS. Failure to keep to the word count could result in your entry being rejected by the judges. Once submitted, entries cannot be edited using this site: please contact us if you need to make changes. 
  • SUPPORTING MATERIALS: If required, up to 3 links can be provided with information to support your entry. One of those links can be to a Dropbox or Google Drive folder that contains additional articles, charts, data and research supporting your entry. Please do not send us any other documents.

// Where do I submit my entry?

The Leading Lights Submission Link will be available shortly.

//   What is the cost to enter the Leading Lights Awards?

Early-bird Entries May 1 - June 1, 2021: $299 per entry

Regular entry submissions June 2 - July 1, 2021: $399 per entry

*NEW in 2021* Enter your product, service or strategy in more than one category for a discounted fee of $199 per additional category.

Credit card payments can be made online when entering. 

//  Who judges the awards entries?

Light Reading’s editors are the main judges, along with their Heavy Reading analyst colleagues. The decision of the judges is final.

//  Who won in 2020?

You can see which companies and individuals prevailed in 2020 by checking out the following features:

Leading Lights 2020: Winners

Leading Lights 2020: Finalists

//  What advice would you give to anyone entering the awards?

We get hundreds of entries, so keep your entry concise and to the point but ensure you complete all the relevant fields. There’s no need to include long background company histories – we can always check out corporate websites if we need any reminders or corporate updates. Focus on why you think your company should win an award and keep it brief. And please don’t just cut and paste from a press release – if your entry shows you actually care it’s more likely to get noticed. Something that reads like it’s been passed through the digestive systems of 12 lawyers will not stand out.

//   What are the awards categories?

Leading Lights 2021 will feature 25 categories.

CLICK HERE to view the categories

//   What submissions qualify for the Best New Product/Service and Most Innovative categories?

Your product, service and strategic directive must have been announced on or after March 1, 2019, to qualify for the 2020 Leading Lights Awards. Basically, we are looking for the very best from the industry from the past year.

//   What information from my awards entry will be released to the public?

We will not publish the awards entries. But we do reserve the right to use any of the information disclosed, especially product claims and verifiable market share and sales statistics, in our reporting. Rest assured we will be respectful of your company and responsible to our readers. We will contact you to verify anything we aim to report. Any financial details provided by private companies will remain confidential and not published/released to the public domain unless explicitly approved by the submitting company.

//   What if I work for a private company and we can’t disclose some of the information you’re requesting?

We’re asking you to take a risk and aim for greatness. Assume that every field of every entry form is mandatory and fill them in, to the best of your ability. If you leave stuff out it only makes it that much easier for an overworked editor, sifting through a big pile of competing companies, to set your nomination aside or to use it as a drink coaster.

//   What is the Light Reading Hall of Fame?

It’s a program where we single out those executives whose actions, reputations and personalities have made them famous – and infamous – in the communications industry.

//   So is the Hall of Fame a positive award?

It’s a Light Reading Award. Some inductees will be saints. Others, not so much. The famous and infamous will get equal weighting here.

//   I work for a PR agency, I’m not sure exactly what it is my clients do and I have never bothered to look at your publication. Is there an email address I can write to in order to request answers for all the same questions you’ve already answered above?

You contacted us last year, right? Welcome back. Please send an email with the subject line “Leading Lights Question” to editors@lightreading.com and we’ll get back to you as soon as humanly possible.

//   Does my company have to be a Light Reading sponsor to win a Leading Light award?

No, these awards are editorially independent. If we could only pick from a pool of our advertisers and sponsors, some of our most remarkable and controversial picks would never have seen the light of day. That said, contact sales@lightreading.com if you’d like to sponsor any part of our Leading Lights Awards evening. By allowing sponsors for the event itself, we can keep ticket costs down, invite more people from our nominated finalists and generally throw a bigger and better party. Win-win, right?

//   Wait! You haven’t answered my question!

Ach, we knew we missed something! Please send an email with the subject line “Leading Lights Question” to awards@lightreading.com and we’ll respond as soon as we can think of an answer.