West Africa Com is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Informa

Onica Makwakwa
Africa Regional Coordinator, Alliance for Affordable Internet at World Wide Web Foundation

Profile

Avec près de 25 ans d’expérience professionnelle dans le secteur associatif, elle a occupé de nombreux postes de haut niveau au sein d’organisations nationales et internationales, notamment dernièrement en tant que directrice du bureau pour l’Afrique chez Consumers International (Afrique du Sud), directrice générale de UNITY : Journalists of Color, Inc. (États-Unis), directrice du développement à YWCA USA, Black Women’s Health Imperative (anciennement le National Black Women’s Health Project), National Low Income Housing Coalition (États-Unis) et agente de développement international pour le National Council of Negro Women.

En tant que cadre de l’association et collectrice de fonds professionnelle, elle s’est engagée dans la philanthropie et l’impact social des entreprises, et elle a aidé à recueillir plus de 50 millions de dollars pour des causes sociales. Elle a géré et développé des initiatives de plusieurs millions de dollars, y compris, mais sans s’y limiter, la supervision du plus grand rassemblement de journalistes de couleur avec un public de plus de 7 500 personnes et un impact de près de 20 millions de dollars à travers la ville. De plus, elle possède une vaste expérience en matière de promotion, de politique publique, de gestion de campagnes politiques et de diplomatie internationale. Tout aussi importante est sa grande sensibilité et sa perspective unique de la dynamique qui affecte les femmes et d’autres populations défavorisées.

Diplômée de l’Université de l’Iowa où elle a obtenu un master en éducation (éducation internationale, politique publique et leadership) et un bachelor ès sciences en psychologie avec une mineure en études et éducation des femmes, elle a également fréquenté le Grinnell College en Iowa. Mme Makwakwa est originaire de Soweto, en Afrique du Sud ; après avoir vécu aux Etats-Unis pendant 23 ans, elle a récemment rejoint le courant du retour à la maison et vit et travaille actuellement en Afrique du Sud.

Programme Sessions

  • Déjeuner réseautage et visite de l’exposition - Entreprendre des échanges informelles et interactives autour d’un déjeuner

    09:30

West Africa Com is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Informa

Onica Makwakwa
Africa Regional Coordinator, Alliance for Affordable Internet at World Wide Web Foundation

Profile

Has nearly 25 years of professional experience in the nonprofit sector where she has served in numerous high level position with national and international organizations including more recently as Head of Office for Africa at Consumers International (South Africa), Executive Director of UNITY: Journalists of Color, Inc. (USA), Director of Development at YWCA USA, Black Women's Health Imperative (formerly the National Black Women's Health Project), and National Low Income Housing Coalition (USA) and International Development Officer for National Council of Negro Women.

As an association executive and professional fundraiser, she is committed to philanthropy and corporate social impact and has helped raise over $50 million for social causes. She has managed and developed multi-million dollar initiatives including, but not limited to, overseeing the largest gathering of journalists of color with an attendance of over 7,500 and a citywide impact of nearly $20 million. Furthermore, has a wide range of experience in advocacy, public policy, political campaign management and international diplomacy. Equally important is her strong sensitivity and unique perspective to the dynamics affecting women, and other disadvantaged populations.

A graduate of The University of Iowa where she earned a Masters degree in Education (International Education, Public Policy and Leadership) and a Bachelor of Science in Psychology with a minor in Women's Studies and Education, she also attended Grinnell College in Iowa. Ms. Makwakwa is a native of Soweto, South Africa; after living in the USA for 23 years, she recently joined the Homecoming Revolution and is now living and working in Africa based in South Africa

Onica Makwakwa's Network

Agenda Sessions

  • Sustaining Growth and Uniting divisions: A framework for a Fragmented Regulatory Landscape

    , 09:30