AfricaCom is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.



The AfricaCom Awards 2019

2019 winners now announced!

About the Awards

The AfricaCom Awards, in association with founding sponsor, PCCW Global, celebrate the achievements of the best companies, solutions, products and personalities improving connectivity and driving Africa towards the Fourth Industrial Revolution. Our host for 2019 was Former Springbok Rugby Captain, Bryan Habana!

2019 winners now announced!

Connecting the Continent Award

Winner: Liquid Telecom


  • Angola Cables
  • Orange
  • Parallel Wireless
  • PCCW Global
  • Upstream Systems
Delivering Excellence in Customer Experience

Winner: Ericsson & MTN Group


  • Alepo Technologies Inc.
  • MTN and Huawei
  • MTN South Africa Huawei
  • Orange
"Everything as a service" - Best Cloud or Application Solution

Winner: Verimatrix


  • Mavenir
  • PCCW Global
  • Orange
Changing Lives Award

Winner: KaiOS Technologies


  • Ericsson South Africa in partnership with Wot-If? Trust
  • iShamba Limited
  • ISOCEL Telecom
  • Liquid Telecom
  • Orange
Best Digital Entertainment Innovation

Winner: Telecoming

Shortlisted: Orange

Security Product or Service of the Year

Winner: Upstream Systems

Shortlisted: Orange

Best Network Management Software

Winner: Orange and Huawei


  • Ericsson
  • Mavenir
  • MTN and Huawei
  • PCCW Global
Best Connected Consumer Device

Winner: Orange (SANZA)


  • Huawei Technologies
  • Orange (Smart WiFi)
Best Innovation for Enterprise

Winner: Sqwidnet


  • Comviva Technologies Ltd
  • LMT
  • MTN South Africa and Huawei
  • MTN Uganda and Huawei
Most Innovative Service "The Business of Tomorrow"

Winner: Safaricom and Huawei 


  • BRCK
  • Cassava Smartech and Comviva 
  • KaiOS Technologies
  • Tramigo
  • World Telecom Labs and iPLANS
CXO of the Year

Winner: Charles Molapisi, CTIO, MTN Group


  • Anthoinet Ohene-Amoah, CEO, GetHer In digital
  • Antonio Nunes, CEO, Angola Cables
  • Gerard Lokossou, CEO, Orange DRC
  • Richmond Nagbe Tobii, Managing Director, LIBTELCO
  • Stephane Duproz, CEO, Africa Data Centres
  • Yonny Friedman, Co-Founder and CEO, MENTA MUSIC
Enterprise CxO of the Year

Winner: Warren Hero, CDO, Webber Wentzel


  • Ainojie (Alex) Irune, COO, Oando Energy Resources
  • Busiswa Lutshaba, Director, Blu Space Communications SA
  • Irene Kiwia, Founder and CEO, Twaa
  • Kasango Dickens, CEO, Pison Public Relation
  • Niklas Ekdahl, CEO, Connected Video at MultiChoice
  • Tijan Chorr, Founder and CEO, LagaAfrik
  • Rebatho Madiba, Acting CIO, Transnet
Female Innovator of the Year

Winner: Elisabeth Medou Badang, Senior Vice President Africa and Indian Ocean, Orange


  • Amanda Louw Bester, Founder and CEO, Pragmattica Digital Consulting
  • Baratang Miya, Founder and CEO, GirlHype
  • Dr Carolina Odman, Associate Professor of Physics, University of Western Cape
  • Dudu Mkhwanazi, Chief Executive Officer, Project Isizwe
  • Gergana (Gery) Young, Software Engineer, BBD's Research and Development Unit
  • Lauren Dallas, Founder, Future Females
  • Lorraine Steyn, CEO, Khanyisa Real Systems
  • Sibongile Mongadi, Founder, Uku'hamba
  • Siddika Osman,  Managing Director, Nkgwete IT Solutions
  • Tabassum Qadir, CEO, Uprise Africa
  • Virtue Oboro, Founder, Tiny Hearts Technology
Government Leadership Award

Awarded to Minister Hon. Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams, South Africa’s Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies,  in honour of her efforts to break the barriers of connectivity in South Africa and her efforts to promote an inclusive connected society.

The Awards Ceremony

The AfricaCom Awards will be presented on Wednesday 13 November, during an exclusive event at waterfront venue The Lookout. Guests will enjoy a 3-course dinner, cocktails and networking in our 'Secret Garden' themed venue. As well as the chance to find out more about the winning organisations, there will also be live entertainment from dancers, performing artists and our host for 2019 - Former Captain of the Springboks, Bryan Habana!

The Awards Afterparty

We invite all AfricaCom attendees to join us for the Awards Afterparty, with music, dancing and the chance to celebrate with the most innovative organisations in the industry.

A wide variety of ways to get involved!


Associate yourself with success with one of our Awards branding packages:

  • Increased exposure with bespoke branding at the event and in the run up
  • Alignment with industry innovation & development through sponsoring a category
  • Recognition as a key industry player who supports the community
  • Airtime at the event through presenting an award
Download the 2019 Awards Brochure

Secure your spot to enjoy an evening of fun and celebration with some of the industry's most important figures:

  • Enjoy informal networking with influential industry figures
  • Rub shoulders with the African tech & telco elite
  • Enjoy a 3 course dinner & live entertainment
  • Drinks, dancing & fun – it’s not all about work

With 450 senior level attendees, the AfricaCom Awards provide the perfect platform to position your brand and host clients and partners.

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities please download the Awards Brochure today

Here's what happened in 2019

Watch our highlights video to see what happened at the 2019 Awards ceremony.

Africa Com Awards Sponsor

Changing Lives Award Sponsor