West Africa Com is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Informa

Mariam Tendou Kamara
Founder & Managing Director at Baantou, MadameDigital

Profile

Elle s’est engagée à soutenir et à encourager la prochaine génération de leaders. Reconnue pour exploiter le potentiel des gens pour faire progresser les entreprises, Uche insuffle de l’enthousiasme et de la responsabilité dans une organisation afin de créer des équipes motivées, performantes et cohésives.

Née d’un père guinéen et d’une mère originaire de la République démocratique du Congo, Mariam Tendou est pharmacienne et formée aux États-Unis, une experte en communication et une entrepreneure sociale qui œuvre pour le changement social et l’autonomisation économique des femmes et des filles africaines par l’inclusion et la culture numérique. Au cours des 15 dernières années, son travail s’est concentré sur la construction de ponts et le renforcement de l’accès aux nouveaux médias et aux technologies de l’information et de la communication au profit d’initiatives, de programmes et de politiques visant à rendre les femmes et les filles d’Afrique occidentale et centrale et à travers le continent autonomes.

Membre fondatrice de l’ONG guinéenne WAFRICA (Femmes d’Afrique), elle dirige actuellement BAANTOU, une société d’influence et de communication basée à Dakar, au Sénégal, et est la fondatrice de la plateforme de collaboration INTER’ACTES-MADAMEDIGITAL visant à fournir des services et à soutenir le développement des entreprises des femmes évoluant dans l’économie numérique au Sénégal, en Guinée et en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Mme Kamara est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences et d’un bachelor en pharmacie de la Northeastern University (Boston, États-Unis). Elle est l’ancienne spécialiste régionale des communications et des partenariats pour le bureau régional d’ONU Femmes (Entité des Nations Unies pour l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation des femmes) pour l’Afrique occidentale et centrale. Elle a occupé plusieurs positions et fonctions dans le secteur public et le secteur du développement en tant que conseillère technique en communication et partenariats stratégiques et membre du cabinet du Ministère de l’emploi des jeunes en République de Guinée. Elle a également été membre de l’Instance de coordination nationale du Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme pour le secteur des ONG internationales en Guinée.

En tant que responsable de la stratégie, Mariam Tendou a travaillé au fil des ans avec des institutions internationales clés, dans les secteurs du développement, privé et public et avec des institutions nationales et régionales pour promouvoir le programme de développement de l’Afrique par le biais de communications stratégiques, incluant notamment la mobilisation d’acteurs, la création de partenariats et la mobilisation de ressources. Elle vit et réside actuellement à Dakar, au Sénégal.

Mariam Tendou Kamara''s Network

Programme Sessions

  • Putting Collaboration Between Public and Private at the Heart of Bridging the Digital Divide

    09:30
  • Introduction du Président

    09:25
  • Growing a Culture of Innovation: Integrating West African Start-Ups in Digital Development

    10:15
  • Mobile Money: The Evolving Synergies Between Financial and Digital Inclusion

    11:45

West Africa Com is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Informa

Mariam Tendou Kamara
Founder & Managing Director at Baantou, MadameDigital

Profile

Born to a Guinean father and a mother from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Mariam Tendou is a US trained pharmacist, a communications expert and a social entrepreneur working towards social change, and the economic empowerment of African women and girls through digital inclusion and digital literacy. Her work over the past 15 years has focused on building bridges and strengthening access to new media and information and communication technologies to benefit initiatives, programs and policies geared at empowering women and girls in West and Central African and across the Continent.

A founding member of Guinea-based NGO WAFRICA (Women of Africa), she currently heads BAANTOU, an influencer and communications firm based in Dakar, Senegal. and is the founder of the INTER’ACTES–MADAMEDIGITAL collaborative platform aimed at providing services and support to the growth of women-led
businesses’ evolving in the digital economy in Senegal, Guinea and West Africa.

Ms. Kamara holds a B.Sc/ B.Pharm degree from Northeastern University (Boston, USA). She is the former regional communications and partnerships portfolio specialist for UN Women (United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment) regional bureau for West/Central Africa. She held several roles and functions in the public and development sector as technical advisor in Communications & Strategic Partnerships and cabinet member of the Ministry of Youth Employment in the Guinea Republic. She also served as member of the Country Coordinating Mechanism for the Global Fund against AIDS Tuberculosis and Malaria for the international NGO sector in Guinea.

As a strategist, Mariam Tendou has worked over the years with key international institutions, in the development, private and public sectors and with national and regional institutions to promote the African development agenda through strategic communications, including advocacy, partnership building and resource mobilization. She currently lives and resides in Dakar, Senegal.

Mariam Tendou Kamara's Network

Agenda Sessions

  • Putting Collaboration Between Public and Private at the Heart of Bridging the Digital Divide

    , 09:30
  • Chairman’s Opening Remarks

    , 09:25
  • Growing a Culture of Innovation: Integrating West African Start-Ups in Digital Development

    , 10:15
  • Mobile Money: The Evolving Synergies Between Financial and Digital Inclusion

    , 11:45